Everything I Know I learned From Watching Telenovelas

No. 8

It’s a fact. When you’re dirt poor and somehow manage to marry into money, your in-laws will no doubt host a lavish ball at the family Hacienda within a week.

Beware: DON”T EVER let your new mother-in-law dress you for the big bash.

She’s well aware that you don’t know your Elle from your smell, and she’s out to humiliate you in front of all the VIP guests, trust.

Don’t believe me? Check out this clip starring novela queen Thalía in 1994’s Marimar. Vengeful maids, impressive pre-Snooki poofs and precocious dogs, the novela that would hold entire countries at a standstill whist it was broadcast, had it all.

Coincidentally enough, I own that exact pair of heels, they were a gift from my…hold on, wait a minute. What a bitch!

I know you’re thinking: That was just a one-time thing, right? Wrong.

Don’t say we didn’t warn you.

 

Ugly dress image via.

Leave a comment